‘Land Remixes’ sees eleven artists inhabiting Porya Hatami’s crystalline sonic universe, pushing the original ‘Land’ tracks into new, distorted territories.

Waves on Canvas cut through the glacial ambience of ‘Autumn’ with jittering layers of static and percussion, adding a ghostly vocal that brings the humanistic layers of the original into sharp relief.

Ruhe’s deconstructive treatment of ‘Sea’ encloses the original’s sweeping synth washes and loose chimes in a cocoon of weather-beaten static and decay before The Green Kingdom’s loose acoustic mix places guitar, bass and drums front and centre, absorbing Hatami’s chimes and into its blissfully homespun acoustic frame. The New Honey Shade’s dreamy, washed-out reworking retains the pure ambience of the original, adding a veil of dusky haze that compliments the original’s sunlit clarity.

Maps and Diagrams’ remix of ‘Winter’ is a propulsive, otherworldly excursion through distorted electronics that pushes Hatami’s field recordings to a crackling extreme and is followed by a spectral, coruscating and often raw interpretation by Offthesky.

Pleq’s take on ‘Snow’ is every bit as fragile as the original but narrows the focus, bringing fragmented keys and twittering birdsong to the fore. Sima Kim’s version pushes the track toward a rapturous, faded ambience – a theme continued by Darren Harper’s deep, near-aquatic interpretation.

Darren McClure’s mix of ‘Bug’ adds a dark, dronal underbelly to the feather-light original, with detuned synths washing under and over Hatami’s chirping electronics before Lcoma brings the album to a close with a cavernous, reverberating mix full of alien textures and weighty drones.

All told, it’s an album that moves Hatami’s luminescent music into new realms. As these eleven artists bring their own interpretations to life they reveal previously hidden aspects, both rapturous and melancholy, that illuminate Hatami’s original tracks wh

Purchase the physical album here

Artwork + Design: Azad Jannati

Mastering: Jason Corder (aka offthesky)